Catch-up mode: what happens when an employee is enrolled late into an Experience

Your Dado Experiences can be set to start immediately after enrollment, on a specific calendar date or a set number of days before/after a milestone date (like a start date, promotion date or termination date). But reality is rarely as tidy as we'd like it to be, so it's common for employees to be enrolled after they normally would have been – for instance, because:

  • They were hired at short notice, so they won't have the normal length preboarding period
  • They are leaving with less notice period than usual, so the lead up to their termination date is shorter than usual
  • They've just joined the company so need to join the offsite experience after everyone else – but they should still receive the same tasks/messages/automation at the same times as everyone else.

Dado handles all kinds of late starts automatically, using catch-up mode.


Catch up mode for Experiences starting on a fixed calendar date

For instance, your offsite prep experience started on September 1st, but new hires who started in mid-September also need to be enrolled in this experience.

When someone is enrolled manually or automatically in an experience that started on a fixed calendar date, they will 'catch up' with the rest of the cohort who started on time. That means any tasks/messages/automations that would have happened in the past will trigger within 10 minutes of their enrollment.

If you don't want all of these timeline items to trigger (or want to space them out over the next few days rather than have them trigger immediately), enroll the individual manually. Manual enrollment gives you the option to adjust timing before their experience starts.


Catch up mode for Experiences starting before/after a milestone date

For instance, your offboarding usually starts 2 weeks before the term date. But in some cases, people are let go with less notice.

When someone is enrolled manually or automatically in an experience set to start a set period before/after a milestone date, they go into 'catch up' mode. That means any tasks/messages/automations that should have happened in the past will trigger within 10 minutes of their enrollment.

If you don't want all of these timeline items to trigger (or want to space them out over the next few days rather than have them trigger immediately), enroll the individual manually. Manual enrollment gives you the option to adjust timing before their experience starts.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us